Science Department

Science

Science Department Overview

The Science Department offers courses which introduce students to the concepts, laws, and processes of the life and physical sciences. All Biology, Chemistry and Physics courses utilize the laboratory extensively. A minimum of three credits of science are required for graduation, as well as four STEM credits. Students who want to be considered for any of the honors or Advanced Placement classes must meet the specific pre-requisites delineated within each course description and, through their previous science classes, have effectively demonstrated the following habits of mind:

  • the motivation and discipline to complete all short- and long-term assignments and written laboratory findings in a clear, concise and timely manner
  • an ability to independently collect, manipulate and analyze data
  • a highly-defined ability to problem-solve and work with abstract concepts
  • an ability to acquire and successfully utilize and apply a great amount of discipline-specific content, vocabulary and appropriate mathematical formulas
  • the focus and responsibility to deal with rigorous pacing of instruction and the pressures inherent within an advanced level of study

Core Course Offerings Include:
Biology, Chemistry, and Physics

Engineering (Project Lead the Way) Course Offerings Include:
I
ntroduction to Engineering, Principles of Engineering, Civil Engineering and Architecture 

Elective Course Offerings Include:
Astronomy, Earth History, Environmental Science, Everyday Chemistry, Forensics, Genetics, Honors Human Anatomy and Physiology, Marine Biology, and Meteorology

Advanced Placement (AP) Course Offerings Include:
Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Environmental Science


Science Department 
Resources:

Click here for the Astronomy Club Website.

Click here for the 3-D Print Team


GET INVOLVED at the Maritime Aquarium
TeMPEST is an aquarium-based after-school program for high school students from Norwalk Public Schools. TeMPEST provides unique hands-on experiences in science, technology, engineering, and math as well as opportunities for students to interact with aquarium animals and staff. CLICK THE LINK BELOW FOR MORE INFO: http://maritimeaquarium.org/fun-a-learning/teachers-a-groups/tempest

Teacher Email Website
 Mr. Anastasia
 anastasial@norwalkps.org

 Website
 Mr. Belmonte  
belmontem@norwalkps.org

 Website
 Mr. Byron
(Department Chair)
 
byrone@norwalkps.org

 Website

 Mrs. Cetinski 

cetinskit@norwalkps.org   
 Mr. Couture  
coutureg@norwalkps.org

 
 Mrs. Cruz
cruzr@norwalkps.org

 
 Mr. Engle  
englec@norwalkps.org

 
 
Miss DeMatteo

dematteos@norwalkps.org   
 Mr. Foldeak  
foldeakj@norwalkps.org

 
 Mrs. Hunter  
hunterk@norwalkps.org

  Website
 Mr. Minnocci
minnoccim@norwalkps.org 

 
 Ms. Morrison  
morrisonm@norwalkps.org

 Website
 Dr. M. Munrow  
munrowm@norwalkps.org

  Website
Mr. Raila  
railad@norwalkps.org

 
 Mr. Sencen  
sencenj@norwalkps.org

 Website
 Mrs. Silva  
silvam@norwalkps.org

  Website
 Ms. Slason  
slasonj@norwalkps.org